James City County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


James County Fire Department is operated under the 6 divisions: Operations Division, Support Services Division, Administrative Services Division, Emergency Communications Division, Emergency Management Division, and Fire Administration. Five Fire Stations under the main Fire Department is placed within the County in such a way as to help achieve the response goal of six minutes or less. Services include fire protection, prevention services, emergency medical, and emergency disaster protective services.

The Fire Department of James City County is comprised of more than 90 uniformed career staff, 30 non-uniformed employees and over 60 volunteers. Three shifts of career and volunteer Firefighters are staffed in every station. Each crew is responsible for pre-planning of target hazards in their area as well as safety inspections of private businesses within the response district. The Operations Division responds to over 7,800 calls for emergency assistance, and transports over 4000 patients to local Emergency Rooms on a yearly basis. The Emergency Communications Division is responsible for taking 911 telephone calls, dispatching of Police, Fire, and EMS units to incidents, dispatching for JCSA water and sewer crews and animal control on weekends and at night, Emergency Medical Dispatching, Radio System Control and Maintenance, and FCC Licensure.

Contact information:

James County Fire Department
300 McLaws Circle Suite 201
Williamsburg, VA. 23185
Phone: (757) 220-0626
Fax: (757) 220-9125
E-mail: fire@james-city.va.us

James City-Bruton Fire Dept - Station 1
3135 Forge Rd, Toano, VA 23168
Phone: (757) 566-1905

James City County Fire Dept- Station 3
5077 John Tyler Hwy,
Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone: (757) 220-0626


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved